Faculty of Humanities

Faculty of Humanities


The Faculty of Humanities includes the following Departments and Programs:

(1)           Department of General History

(2)           Department of General Philosophy

(3)           Department of Comparative Literature (Literature of the World)

(4)           Department of Translation and Interpretation

(5)           Department of Information Science

(6)           Department of Arabic

(7)           Department of English and English Literature

(8)           Department of French Culture Studies 

(9)           Department of Classical Studies

(10)        Department of Music

(11)     The Unit for English as a Foreign Language

(12)     The Graduate Program in Creative Writing 

(13)     Multidisciplinary B.A. in the Humanities


The Faculty awards Bachelor's, Master's and PhD degrees in all the above, as well as teaching certificates in Comparative Literature, English, French Culture and Music.

Bar Ilan Unviersity credit system

Bar-Ilan credits are expressed in terms of "annual class hours." The number of "annual hours" awarded for a particular course is normally equal to the number of hours per week devoted to that course during a full year of study (i.e., each "annual hour" is equivalent to 2 credits as usually defined by the U.S. universities working on a semester system). This does not apply to laboratory, seminar, or recitation hours or for certain science courses for which a special credit hour value has been determined.

For more information about studying at the Faculty of Humanities, refer to the Faculty's website














Last modified: 05/09/2017