Bar-Ilan News

Spokesman office Tel.: 03-531-8121 Fax: 03-738-4079
  • Prof. Doron Aurbach

    Prof. Doron Aurbach to be Honored by US-Based Electrochemical Society

    Date: 2017-04-24 Hour: 12:47

    Prof. Doron Aurbach, of the Department of Chemistry and Institute of Nanotechnology and Advanced Materials, will receive the 2017 Allen J. Bard Award in Electrochemical Science in recognition of his distinguished contributions to the field. The award will be presented at the 231st ECS Meeting, taking place May 28-June 1, 2017 in New Orleans, LA, where ECS will celebrate its 115th anniversary.

    Aurbach is a professor in the Department of Chemistry at Bar-Ilan University, where he and his team research and develop rechargeable high energy density batteries and supercapacitors, as well as novel electro-analytical and spectro-electrochemical methods for sensitive electrochemical systems. He has published more than 540 papers and is a technical editor of the Journal of The Electrochemical Society (JES).

    “ECS has a rich history of providing award recognition for scientists and engineers in our field,” says Roque Calvo, executive director of ECS. “The awards being presented at the 231st ECS Meeting highlight some of the most influential researchers in the fields of electrochemical and solid state science.”

     “The Electrochemical Society is my scientific home,” Aurbach says. “I’ve been affiliated with the Society from the beginning of my career, nearly 35 years ago. Receiving this award is one of the greatest moments of my scientific career.”  Aurbach will deliver an address on "Electroanalytical Techniques Coupled with in-Situ Structural Characterization of Electrodes in Devices for Energy Storage and Conversion" during the ECS Meeting.  Ten additional honors will be awarded during the gathering.

    Founded in 1902, ECS is led by scientists, for scientists. ECS advances electrochemistry and solid state science by publishing peer-reviewed scholarly journals, convening scientific meetings, and supporting emerging scientists in our fields.