Bar-Ilan News

Spokesman office Tel.: 03-531-8121 Fax: 03-738-4079
  • Prof. Doron Aurbach, Department of Chemistry and Institute of Nanotechnology and Advanced Materials

    Prof. Doron Aurbach to Receive Award from the International Battery Association

    Date: 2014-02-11 Hour: 11:43

    Prof. Doron Aurbach, of Bar-Ilan University's Department of Chemistry and Institute of Nanotechnology and Advanced Materials, is the winner of the 2014 Ernest B. Yeager Award from the International Battery Association (IBA).  Prof. Aurbach is being recognized for his lifelong contributions to the development of power sources such as rechargeable batteries, and the advancement of basic and applied science facilitating the development of electric vehicles.

    The Yeager Award was established in honor of the late Prof. Ernest B. Yeager, internationally renowned for his pioneering contributions to the understanding of electrochemical reactions, and for the development of fuel, cell and battery technology in his nearly 50 years on the faculty of Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio, which houses a research center bearing his name.

    Prof. Aurbach conducted his postdoctoral research 30 years ago under Prof. Yeager's guidance.  The Yeager Award brings recognition to the importance of Prof. Aurbach's systematic and thorough research in all areas related to the development of advanced rechargeable batteries and super capacitors, and the advancement of science and electrochemistry.

    Prof. Aurbach, who has been working on the development of advanced power sources for more than three decades, is a pioneer in the development of the lithium-ion batteries used to power personal devices.  He has also played a leading role in the development of rechargeable magnesium batteries.

    Prof. Aurbach is involved in promoting a worldwide revolution in electric vehicles world through cooperation with leading companies such as the German chemical company BASF and the American automaker General Motors.  He is the leader of the Israeli National Research Center for Electrochemical Propulsion funded by the National Science Foundation and the Office of the Prime Minister.

    Prof. Aurbach has published more than 450 articles in leading scientific journals.  His articles have been cited more than 16,000 times.

    The Yeager Award will be bestowed upon Prof. Aurbach at the IBA 2014 meeting to be held next month in Australia.